Call for Papers:
Robotic Technologies and Space Architecture
at AIAA Space 2011

The Space Architecture Technical Committee (SATC) and the Space Automation & Robotics Technical Committee (SARTC) of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) are organizing a technical track at the

AIAA Space 2011 Conference & Exposition
2011 September 26-29
Long Beach Convention Center
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Long Beach, California, USA

Important Dates:

Abstract deadline:

2011 February 4

Author notification:

2011 April 12

Final manuscript deadline:

2011 September 5


2011 September 26-29


This track will explore robotic technologies for orbital and planetary surface applications and space architectures, especially systems supporting robotic construction techniques.  Abstracts are being solicited on the following technical topics:


The abstract should provide a synopsis of the problem statement, research methods, and conclusions.  It must be submitted on-line through the AIAA Space 2011 web site at

Peer Review:

All papers must pass peer review before being accepted for publication and presentation.  Acceptance is not assured.  Papers must present original work.  They must support claims with evidence and refer to precedent studies.  The writing must be clear English, free of spelling and grammatical errors.

Authors must consider the deadline in planning the scope of the paper – especially for work in progress.  Results must be documented (and if necessary, cleared for release) before submitting the draft.

AIAA enforces a strict “no paper, no podium” policy.


Papers must conform to the AIAA template, available for download from

We encourage authors to download the template and use it at the outset of their writing to avoid significant reformatting later.


Authors of accepted papers must register for the conference, attend the session, and present their work in person.  No podium, no paper.

More Information:

AIAA Space 2011 Web Site:


Session Organizers:

A. Scott Howe (SATC) <>

Silvano Colombano (SATC) <>

Glen Henshaw (SARTC) <>